jump to navigation

Quote of the Week, W/E 4th June 2010 June 4, 2010

Posted by Audit Monkey in Quote of the Week.
Tags:
trackback

We haven’t had a quote of the week for sometime, so without further ado, this week’s quote.

I’m currently trying to upgrade my mobile phone and I have been evaluating the Apple I-phone. I’ve canvassed opinions amongst colleagues who own one and they all seem pretty awe-struck by the apps, the downloads, etc. I’m quite sceptical.

Anyway, I asked one young lady in the office to tell me about the pro’s of the I-phone. Of course, she loved the apps, expressed in this killer line.

“I’ve got an app which shows me where the nearest McDonalds is”.

Oh please. Do you really need an application to tell you where the nearest Mac’s is? What is the likelihood of having a random McAttack, find oneself in the middle of nowhere and need electronic assistance to navigate to the nearest town centre for a cheeseburger or reprocessed chicken nuggets? In truth, probably very remote.

I just find it terribly banal that the McDonald marketeers think we need an app. It’s marketing madness but someone is probably paid handsomely to dream these things up.

“I’m not lovin’ it.”

Comments»

1. itauditsecurity - June 7, 2010

McDonald marketers gave us such an app because many such young ladies and gentlemen exist! Most likely, some programming geek dreamed it up sans McDonald’s.

What a simple life! The great challenges of finding a burger. No worries!

Ask her if she’s ever considering applying for the ‘British’ Olympic Mascots job.

2. Richard - June 7, 2010

Don’t be an iPhone sheep – get an Android; eg the Nexus One or HTC Desire. It’s the future! (especially if you already use Google mail + calendar).

3. Audit Monkey - June 7, 2010

Wouldn’t say she will one of the Olympic Mascots as she is looking for Willie instead!


Leave a Reply

