jump to navigation

Crappy Work June 30, 2010

Posted by Audit Monkey in The Joy & Pain of Internal Audit, Working Life in Britain.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I often wonder if life is greener on the other side of the fence. No, I don’t mean in Finance but as a solicitor.  Solicitors to my mind, seem to command more respect than your average internal auditor, or accountant for that matter.  So, to gauge what life could have been like in the parallel universe, I’ve been reading parts of Legal Week online to see whether I’m missing out. (For those not in the know, Legal Week is akin to Accountancy Age).

One post in the Legal Week Career Clinic made me choke my tea all over my keyboard. I paraphrase it here. The whole thread is here.

“Since qualifying, I have working for the same partner. He promises clients cheap deals with a quick turnaround time, and then passes the work on to me. Initially this was acceptable but now I feel trapped and bored. Wadda I do?”

Hold on, isn’t this the gig in partnerships? The partners go out and source the work from existing or new clients, agree a price (as an aside, in this market I’m not surprised discounting goes on) and dish it out to the minions back in the office. Surely one has to demonstrate some competence that one can do the work before being given the sexier stuff?

On the other hand, I know how the poster feels. Although I have substantial post qualified experience, I’ve been asked to audit some right kack in the past year. One highlight was trawling through employees’ personal development files for evidence of sign off. You’ve got to ask, like anyone really cares about such trivia? Can you really see a scenario where the Head Sheds say “Damn, we didn’t sign off Ethel Smith’s the Scanning Clerk’s CPD file, now the firm in the real manure”.

But hey, like a true professional, I’ve jumped through the hoops, ticked the boxes, reported that everything was satisfactory so everyone can sleep easy at night. Hopefully there will be a future pay off but I somehow I doubt it.

“Solicitors decide whether a Personal Development File has been appropriately signed. I’ll give you a clue, probably not”.

Comments»

1. ITauditSecurity - July 1, 2010

AM,
I love your stuff. I was laughing as I finished the post, not because it was funny, but because it hit home, and laughing is more fun than crying. I know what you mean. At least as I tick my current boxes, I’m still learning a few things. Sigh.


Leave a Reply

