jump to navigation

Quote of the Week – W/E 16 July 2010 July 19, 2010

Posted by Audit Monkey in Quote of the Week, The Joy & Pain of Internal Audit.
Tags:
trackback

At the moment I seem to be having what I would describe as ‘Alice through the looking-glass’ experiences. Nothing appears to be what it seems, and my own perception and interpretation of events is contrary to others. In context, this next event takes the prize.

As my regular fans will know, Audit Monkey is looking for a job.  While on the telephone to a London recruitment firm, the consultant heaped praise on me and commented “that we like working with you, Audit Monkey, as we like your honesty”. Frabjous! I’m not quite sure whether this is a compliment or a criticism.

“A recruitment consultant through the looking-glass sees a cornucopia of vacant positions in post recession Britain”.

Comments»

1. ITauditSecurity - July 25, 2010

I claim my status as one of the avid readers!

Back to the topic at hand…..

Any chance the recruitment firm has any honesty at all?

I remember one time I was working at a really caustic place with an acidic manager. All the contractors complained to the recruiter how we were being treated (and this woman knew as every contractor she had sent there said the same thing), and one day the manager, myself, and the recruiter had a meeting to discuss the “latest problems” with me. The recruiter listened to this manager blast me for things the manager told me to do, which I noted. The recruiter said nothing.

After the meeting I told the recruiter, “Thank your for selling me down the river.” She said, “Why do you say that?”

“Because you know how this manager treats people and twists things and yet you didn’t say anything.”

The recruiter said, “I have to maintain the relationship.”

Wonderful. Fortunately for everyone, the manager was fired a short time later. Working there got much better.

2. Audit Monkey - July 26, 2010

In context, my experience was slightly different. I was quite open to the Recruitment Consultant about possibly not fitting the job spec and requirements for an open position. My subsequent refusal seemed to curry favour as I wasn’t wasting the Consultant’s time or mine. I can only surmise other candidates have been bragging and stretching credibility.


Leave a Reply

