jump to navigation

Auditor Interview Questions August 18, 2010

Posted by Audit Monkey in The Joy & Pain of Internal Audit.
Tags:
trackback

Ever wondered what an auditor is asked at interview? I will now lift the lid. These questions were posed to Audit Monkey at a recent grilling at a Big 4 Bank in the UK. I have added the ‘real’ answers to the questions I would have liked to have uttered. I did not wish to proceed as wasn’t particularly keen on the firm in the first instant. The ripped chairs and damaged fixtures and fittings in the interview room only reinforced my views. Anyway.

What do you enjoy about auditing?
Very little. The bit between ending one audit and starting another as one can twiddle one’s thumbs for a couple of days or weeks under the guise of planning.

What do you least enjoy about auditing?
The whole job.

How do you go about auditing?
Oh please. I’ve been doing this for a decade, spare me.

Why ‘this bank’? Name removed to protect the not so innocent.
I actually don’t wish to join your organisation as from previous bitter experience, the Terms and Conditions are shite and the employees equally so.

What do you do when you encounter resistance?
Cave in or wish I was somewhere else instead. Alternatively wish the auditee would just play the game, i.e. tell me enough so I can tick the box, sod off and go and have yet another cup of tea.

What do you like about the role?
Very little. See above.

How do you plan your audits?
Funnily enough, a real answer, in-depth as I don’t like unexpected surprises biting me on the bottom at the last-minute. But please don’t ask me the same question again but phrased differently. See above.

Enjoy what remains of the summer before the long haul until Christmas.

Yours,

Audit Monkey

Comments»

1. Richard - August 19, 2010

No “give me an example of a time when you made a difference” type questions? Very disappointing I must say.

2. Audit Monkey - August 19, 2010

I turned up to the interview and didn’t walk out – that made a difference, surely?

I probably was asked that one but it probably wasn’t as banal as the others, so didn’t get lodged in the memory.

3. ITauditSecurity - August 21, 2010

Another good one. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

