jump to navigation

Linkedin – You’d Better Believe It October 22, 2011

Posted by Audit Monkey in The Joy & Pain of Internal Audit, Working Life in Britain.
Tags:
trackback

So what is my beef with LinkedIn? Simply put, embellishment. Or if that is too glossy to grasp, lying. I’ve noticed quite a few examples on LinkedIn and I thought it would be nice of me to share.

First up is exaggerating educational achievements. Admittedly I’m no Rhodes Scholar but I’m not naive enough to make out that I am. Of course, imagine my surprise when I discovered that one my University peers on LinkedIn had managed to attend Oxford University while on the same degree course as Audit Monkey at a different institution. Tut, tut, surely a class detention or no essay deadline extension for this misbehaviour.

Next up is lying about post and responsibilities. A former colleague of mine has recently become Head of Internal Audit. While this may sound good on paper, the truth is slightly more prosaic. He is Head of a one man department; he still has to get his hands dirty doing audits and manages himself, although he is supervised off shore by a Group Director in the Galapagos or thereabouts. Chiny, chin, chin.

Among my other favourite misleading statements comes from a person by whom I was interviewed by many moons ago. One of his LinkedIn comments read “responsible for internal audit recruitment” which sounds like he managed the process end to end. Oh please, you were on an interview panel and you were probably there just to make up the numbers.

And of course, the piece de resistance, the dodgy referral. Imagine my surprise when a former colleague who was made redundant received a glowing reference from the Director of Audit responsible for his departure. Of course, the former employee was inept but for the referee to state that he “valued member of the team” beggars belief.

So there you have it. Just goes to prove you can’t always believe what you read. What staggers me, especially from those in Internal Audit, you are supposed to have some integrity which seemingly doesn’t extend very far.

Comments»

1. ITauditSecurity - November 6, 2011

Linkedin is for some, just another way to lie. But fire can be used to torture people too. It’s the people, not the tool. Still sad. And I agree, auditors ought to be examples of integrity.

So are you on Linkedin or not?


Leave a Reply

