jump to navigation

I Can’t Get No Job Satisfaction… January 2, 2012

Posted by Audit Monkey in The Joy & Pain of Internal Audit, Working Life in Britain.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I’ve just stumbled across a ‘job satisfaction survey’ tool, sorry list of questions to ascertain whether I’m happy in my job. So without further ado, I thought I would complete it ‘live on-line’ as a means of sharing and then review the conclusions afterwards.

1. Do you tell other people about your work?
No

2. Do you perceive your job in terms of the things that you do and achieve rather than merely the things that are done to you and the things achieved around you?
(After a pause for consideration) – No. I often find the control weaknesses that I find are quite trivial and not worth escalating. So probably no.

3. If you take money out of the equation, can you still find enough that gives you satisfaction?
Sometimes yes, as I do different audits but the novelty factor does wear off.

4. Do you wake up with inspired ideas for things you are currently working on?
No. How can you reinvent auditing? It’s plan, test, conclude, report out. Next audit, plan, test, conclude, report out. How can I make that more sexy without creating more unnecessary work for myself?

5. Do you find you wake up without needing to set an alarm?
No. Because I do not work in a dynamic, creative industry which is a market leader, e.g. Apple.

6. Is there little difference between your work and home persona?
No. Because I believe strongly as behaving as one’s self in and out of work. For example, I don’t fawn over the boss as I ‘think’ it may improve my promotion prospects. I treat the boss as a colleague as I would anyone else.

7. Do you look forward to work social events such as the Christmas party?
No. Because I don’t believe in having ‘prescriptive fun’ and I try to have fun at different times in the year.

8. Do you choose to keep up-to-date with developments and activity across your industry?
Yes and no. As noted above, you can not change auditing as such, though of course, new legislation does come to fore and it is best to on the ball. But do I sit at home waiting for the next EU Directive – er, no.

9. Do you find ways to help your colleagues and care about the outcome?
No. As most auditors fall into the trap of thinking they know best and the bulk are quite thick and have a text-book, blinkered view of the world.

10. Can you imagine yourself in three years having achieved the career progression you desire?
No. As ironically I’m quite a good auditor (but hey), it isn’t rocket science. However, why would you promote me to a managerial position as you need some smuck to do the donkey work at the sharp end?

So I’ve answered ‘no’ to the majority of the questions. The solution says “If you answer ‘yes’ to most of these questions, your dissatisfaction with your current role is likely to be temporary and manageable”. So, as I’ve answered ‘no’ presumably it’s not! However, I’m realistic, with a pan Europe economic meltdown looming and at my time of life, alternative avenues are rare.

Comments»

1. ITauditSecurity - January 4, 2012

I’m trying to think how to steal this idea for my blog, but it isn’t coming. Maybe I’ll wake up with an inspired idea.

If you were really excited about your job, would you blog more? Probably not, I’m guessing.

2. Audit Monkey - January 4, 2012

How can auditing ever be exciting?

3. ITauditSecurity - January 6, 2012

I find excitement in finding what others have missed. I find excitement in learning new technology. I find excitement in helping someone else “get it” in regards to IT and security risk. I find excitement in actually improving the process and occasionally saving money.

No apologies! Auditing CAN be exciting. But there’s a lot of grind, too.

4. Audit Monkey - February 15, 2012

“I find excitement in finding what others have missed”.

One could call that incompetence in the first instant…


Leave a Reply

