jump to navigation

The Tedium Continues…. June 5, 2012

Posted by Audit Monkey in The State of the British Nation, Working Life in Britain.
Tags: , ,
trackback

So the tedium is over. And no, I’m not talking about the Jubilee celebrations that have droned on all weekend but the conclusion of ‘The Apprentice’ on BBC1.  I’ve got to say I’m disappointed with the result because after several months of waiting, our budding entrepreneurs could only come up with the following ‘business’ ideas:

a) a recruitment consultancy
b) a fine wine hedge fund
c) an internet site for cookery ingredients which will deliver £145m in profit in Yr 1
d) a tele-marketing/tele-sales call centre

Hardly original are they? Analysing the propositions in reverse order:

d) Most people in Britain would be quietly pleased if every tele-sales call centre was nuked and removed from the map.
c) I thought this website was called ‘Ocado’? If memory serves me right, they haven’t turned in a profit since inception, some ten years. Not good.
b) Truth be told, I’ve thought of investing my nest egg in a wine hedge fund to protect against inflation. However, I didn’t know my Chateauneuf de Pape from my Chateaux Soixante Neuf. If there as anyone who would get well and truly mugged off, it would be me. Got to agree with Lord Sugar, avoid.

So what did Lord Sugarcubes opt for? Ricky Martin’s [Richard Martin] recruitment consultancy for those in the pharmaceutical industry. And at a guess, this wasn’t a labour exchange for budding drug dealers from the less salubrious parts of London to allow them to transfer from drug gangs and ascend the gang hierarchy.

Oh please, how lame can you get? If HR departments across the land did their f’ing jobs properly, got off their fat, lazy backsides and advertised vacancies in classified sections of the Press or job websites, there would be no need for recruitment consultants. They are just leeches on industry. But no, we have to create and perpetuate non-jobs for a non industry.

Anyway, I will leave it there. I promise to lend my thoughts to the Wal-Mart Corporate Governance saga in the US in due course.

Giv us a job…..

Comments»

1. ITmonkey101 - June 6, 2012

A tedious end to a tedious series. Shame, as I enjoyed the previous ones but it’s not as much fun now the candidates have to deliver an idea at the end of the show, rather than just lying and backstabbing their way into Lord Sugar’s affections.

2. ITauditSecurity - June 7, 2012

I always wondered what you looked like! No wonder you don’t have much time to blog…

3. The Apprentice: Final New Format « Clever Blogs - June 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

