jump to navigation

Who Will Light the Olympic Couldron at the London Olympics? July 27, 2012

Posted by Audit Monkey in The State of the British Nation, Working Life in Britain.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

This one has been troubling me for some time, who will light the Olympic Couldron tonight? Will it be Steve Redgrave or Daley Thompson? I reckon it will be either Lord Lucan or Elvis. Both haven’t seen for years so it will be quite a surprise to see one or the other.

Back in the real world, I would be prefer it to be Daley Thompson because he was a phenomenal athelete and unlike, Steve Redgrave, didn’t sit on his backside to achieve Gold. I will confess that I’m not a Steve Redgrave fan as he greets me a ‘serial loafer’. My reasoning is this. Between competing in the Los Angeles and Syndey Olympics, Steve has never had a proper, full-time job. Steve, unlike the rest of us, has not had to get up at an ungodly hour for the early morning commute, endure office politics, endure machine tea or coffee and complete a seven to eight hour day. Even his long suffering wife had had enough after Sydney as I vaguely recall her saying ‘Steve had to retire this time and there was to be no further comeback’.

So if I could have devoted my life to permanent exercise, swaning about on a river at someone else’s expense, I reckon I’d be bringing home the gold. Moreover, rowing is such as class riden sport it’s not like the average kid from the ghetto will have the opportunity to participate. Therefore, Steve’s further elevation as uber Olympian this evening somehow doesn’t feel quite right. So should Steve be lighting the couldron tonight? Probably not.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

