jump to navigation

Recruitment Rant – Part 1 August 16, 2012

Posted by Audit Monkey in The Joy & Pain of Internal Audit, Working Life in Britain.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I haven’t posted for a while, so going to vent on my favourite topic, recruitment consultants.

Had a recruitment consultant ring me up and here’s a transcript of the conversation.

Recruitment Consultant: “are you interested in a job at Barclays?”

Me in reply: “have you got any more details?”, as let’s face it, Barclays is a big firm and the Audit department is about 300-400 strong (assuming of course they are recruiting an Auditor).

Recruitment Consultant:
“No, I’ve just been informed of the role. I haven’t got a job description”.

Me: “oh”.

Recruitment Consultant: “I’ll put you on the short list to be contacted again”.

Me: – stunned silence. So what was the point of the call? Was the consultant bored? Why not contact me when you are in possession of the full spec so we can have a meaningful discussion or is that too obvious?

More posts to follow….

Comments»

1. ITmonkey101 - August 17, 2012

Perhaps it’s for Bob’s old job?

2. Liam Willis - August 20, 2012

I think what you mean to say is: ‘why have you not got an effective recruitment system in place?!’

But I agree, infuriating!


Leave a Reply

