jump to navigation

Dubious Employee Benefits June 11, 2013

Posted by Audit Monkey in The State of the British Nation, Working Life in Britain.
Tags: , ,
trackback

As my regular readers will know, I’m currently looking for another role. Anyway, I was sent a job description today and details of the employee benefits. I will share some of these with you.

Employees, both UK and international based, are covered for any business travel during their employment with the firm. Please note, this does not include holiday travel.

Er, excuse me. If I travel with the firm for the purposes of work I would expect the firm to have adequate insurance in place. If you want to be picky, Employer Liability Insurance, which from memory is a statutory obligation under the Health & Safety legislation. If the firm didn’t, I wouldn’t set foot through the door, just in case a light fitting fell on my head.

The GAYE (Give As You Earn) scheme allows staff to make charitable contributions to any charity of their choice through payroll contributions (available following successful completion of probation).

Er, when did a voluntary deductions qualify as a benefit? This has been a payroll option for at least the past two decades!

Admittedly the firm did offer bonuses and alike. The long service award tickled me; after ten years, £500 quid. It is unlikely that I’ll qualify for the forty year award unless cryogenics become another ‘benefit’. Somehow I doubt it. So on balance I will not be applying.

Comments»

1. ITmonkey101 - June 12, 2013

I went for an interview some years ago where they counted bank holidays as part of my holiday entitlement. Well, thank you very much (!)

ITauditSecurity - June 19, 2013

In one interview some years ago, I was offerred $5K less than I was currently making, which I brought up. The manager’s reply: we have a refrigerator in the breakroom that is stocked with fruit and drinks and you can eat all you want. Wow!


Leave a Reply

