jump to navigation

Electronic Dear John September 10, 2013

Posted by Audit Monkey in The Joy & Pain of Internal Audit, Working Life in Britain.
Tags: ,
trackback

Since I’m bored and sitting here with very little to do, I thought I would share an automated job rejection email with my loyal fan base.

“Hello Audit Monkey,

We’ve had a good look at your application and we’re sorry to have to tell you that we won’t be taking it further this time. Due to the high number of applications we’ve received, we won’t be able to provide you with specific feedback. Thank you for taking the time to apply.

The Recruitment Monkeys”.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind being rejected and I’m quite happy to receive a rejection notification, especially when so many applications never see the light of day. However, where is the benefit in stating we won’t be able to provide any specific feedback? This seems a bit of a double whammy; you didn’t hit the mark but we’re really, really can not be bothered to tell you why. Surely it is better to use the time-honoured expression ‘your profile did not meet our requirements in comparison to other candidates’. Perhaps I’m being unduly sensitive.

Comments»

1. ITauditSecurity - September 12, 2013

I agree. Why take the time to send a reply at all? If you don’t hear within 2 weeks, it’s safe to assume the company isn’t interested. So why bother at all?

It makes the company feel better, but the question is, where’s the value? Will you like that company more because you KNOW they rejected you? Or because they don’t provide specific feedback?

It’s a waste of everyone’s time. Oops, which means I’m wasting my time commenting on it. Oh well.


Leave a Reply

