jump to navigation

Abusive Auditees April 21, 2014

Posted by Audit Monkey in The Joy & Pain of Internal Audit.
Tags: ,
trackback

You may have noticed that I haven’t been blogging of late.  I’m sure that this isn’t a great loss to mankind!  However, one of the reasons why I haven’t been blogging is that I’ve been rocked by an incident even I couldn’t comtemplate.  In short, I was performing an audit and the auditee lodged a complaint against me.  Of course, it’s gone up the chain and other auditees decided to lodge complaints as well. The common dominator in all this is that those complaining had issues with their processes but to no avail, I’ve had to take the wrap.

This seriously doesn’t help. Our job is bad enough without unfounded complaints but it would seem that this is the latest weapon used by auditees to deflect criticism. Sadly, a former colleague of mine was accused of racism.  Of couse, it was without substance. The gentleman in question bears no resemblance to Oswald Mosley and as far as I am aware, isn’t a member of an extremist group but the damage was done.

I am at pains to stress I actually go to great lengths to be as accommodating as possible with auditees. Two observations. I think a culture has developed in the country where it seems that everyone is uber sensitive. It’s probably a mix of political correctness (you can’t criticise anyone even though they are incompetent and responsible for managing duff systems) and a litigious society (everyone is afraid of being sued or deflamation) they try to cover their butt, by any means possible, fair or foul.

The lesson learnt for me is to remember to cover my arse even more than I already do.

Comments»

1. faye - May 16, 2014

I used to work in internal audit…more than 8 years. It is a great profession and you learn a lot about the company/business/entity depending on the scope of audit work. However, auditees get vengeful when you raise issues. Raising issues is an auditor’s job. Some auditees take it personally. When they do, you get stressed out …and it is a different level of stress. I sympathize with you. I experienced the same thing. It would be good if the internal audit team has huge support from top management.


Leave a Reply

