jump to navigation

Be Careful What You Say January 4, 2016

Posted by Audit Monkey in The Joy & Pain of Internal Audit, Working Life in Britain.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Happy New Year! My first post of 2016 will be off-topic as I would be interested to hear others experiences.

In 2015, I lost a tremendous number of friends and acquaintances. You are probably thinking what did I do? Well, it was more to do with what I said. I wasn’t offensive but when I said something which was to my mind, innocuous, my now former friends and acquaintances took umbrage and now I’m persona non gratia. I will admit that in one case a casual comment on Facebook* was to blame but still.

My question is ‘why?’ Why are people so sensitive? Why is it like treading on eggshells when you have a conversation? I’m aware that some observers blame the rise of political correctness for people’s sensitivity. However, I suspect it has more to do with empowerment; individuals see themselves as high rankers in the social hierarchy as they get older and if you say something which they find disagreeable, that’s it. Somewhat ironically I dropped ‘a friend’ at the weekend and the reason, I was fed up with my friend’s apathy and moroseness.

Of course, this has little to do with auditing.  At stretch it does as auditors are often on the end of less than flattering comments from auditees and the senior management team.  I’ve developed broad shoulders to cope with these outbursts and reassuringly, if I do discover a weakness or fraud, I do console myself that it’s always the client’s or process owner’s problem not mine.

PS * ‘I’m not into Social Media’, he says as he types another blog post.

Comments»

1. ITauditSecurity - January 6, 2016

I think a lot of it has to do with social meda, which is how many people define relationships today.

If you text or chat or tweet or connect on Linked In or with someone, that’s having a relationship so to speak. Real relationships, the ones that involve real faces, are dwindling in some circles.

So when you offend someone or even disagree with someone, whether in person or on social media, you are easily discarded because people have ‘so many other friends’, even if only on social media.

Social media relationships tend to be pretty shallow and fragile.

Kinda like you and me. But we patched it up, I think.
🙂

Audit Monkey - January 13, 2016

There is a grain of truth in what you’ve said, in terms of having friends and relationships through social media. I don’t mean this disrespectfully after the death of David Bowie, there has been an outpouring of grief from people who clearly weren’t personal friends or acquaintances. What is noticeable is that these are young people, under the age of 25 who weren’t around in the 1970’s and 1980’s when Bowie was in his heyday. To my mind, Bowie didn’t enjoy as much mainstream success post 1990’s but I’m no expert.

See http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-3396687/STEPHEN-GLOVER-Forgive-Bowie-hysteria-little-top.html for a photo.

Presumably they feel connected to him either through his music or that they have a relationship with him that has been established via social media. I do hope it is the former rather than the latter. By all accounts, Bowie was a very private individual, despite the public persona.

Digressing, a relative thinks the media overkill on Bowie is simply filling a vacuum; there is no other newsworthy stories at the moment and this plugs the gap nicely.

Audit Monkey - January 13, 2016

Half-heartedly watching this interview with Mark Hamill and 50 minutes in he calls fans “extended family!”

ITauditSecurity - January 15, 2016

I agree. People today believe if they follow someone on Twitter or elsewhere that they have a connection to that person. NOT

At the same time, I feel I have a connection with you (a small one at that) simply because we comment on each other’s blog occasionally and have exchanged emails, tips, questions, barbs, and whatnot. That’s different that me just following you on Twitter.

If David Bowie sent me a personal email or replied to a blog comment I left, then I’d feel slightly connected, but only in the sense that he acknowledged me once (assuming his assistant didn’t do it) and then promptly forgot me. If I thought anything more, I’d be delusional.

Have a good 2016!

2. ITauditSecurity - January 6, 2016

Hey, where are your PREVIOUS POSTS and NEXT POST links?

Audit Monkey - January 12, 2016

Should be there unless you know any different.

ITauditSecurity - January 15, 2016

I still don’t see them. You might want to view your site when not logged in…


Leave a Reply

